Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

screwy gas gauge

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 87 mid canada k5, Jul 26, 2000.

1. 87 mid canada k5

87 mid canada k5 1/2 ton status

gauge used to stop at one eighth, now it only goes down to a little over half before i run out of juice. doesn't seem to be electrical , is there a float in the gas tank that could be getting stuck? anybody? anyone? SOMEBODY?!

2. rockosangel

rockosangel 1/2 ton status

There should be a float in your tank that registers the amount of gas you have left, but I would double check with others to make sure...I am not an expert on this Blazer thing....I am still learning myself.... It may also be your sending unit on the float that isn't working properly. Hope that helps you out a lil bit.

http://www.rockosangel.coloradok5.com

I'd rather push my Chevy than drive a Ford!

3. NYC K5

NYC K5 1/2 ton status

its most likely your sending unit they are cheaper than a tow truck so i would replace it, for now you can just record the milage on each tank 25gal tank at 10mpg means you can go 250miles between fill ups

4. 90K5

90K5 1/2 ton status

I think the gas gauges on all K5s are all a little screwy. When i fill it up its like half an inch past full and when it says half its reall a third and you still have 5 gals. on empty. Also its fuller if you are going uphill

90K5

5. Canuck

Canuck 1/2 ton status

I find that my guage goes quite a bit past the full mark but the top half of the tank lasts a long time compared to the bottom half.

Canuck

Go Wide or Stay @ Home

6. MudRebel350

MudRebel350 1/2 ton status

I get the same thing i can go for about 2 weeks on the 1st half the second half goes like no tomorrow. That is very strange.

J.D.
    88 Gmc Jimmy

7. 82Jimmy

82Jimmy 1/2 ton status