Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Seeing if I can repair this myself-

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Pookster, Dec 31, 2004.

1. Pookster

Pookster 1/2 ton status

I have a bent clutch fork in my nv4500- I was going to take it to get repaired, but money is tight, so I thought maybe I could tackle it myself. Everything *seems* pretty straight forward, but it is my first time removing anything this large from the truck.

From what I understand, i have to disconnect the shafts, remove the 241 transfer case. This is the first time im dealing with an IFS transfer case, is it a lot harder to do than our SFA's? Last time I did it on my k5, I just disconnected the front drive shaft, and took it out as one unit.

At that point, the transmission will only be supported by the bell housing bolts. Using a Tranny to jack adapter, support the tranny. Remove anything connected to the tranny (wires, speedo, and the shifter (just the long handle) Start un-doing bell housing from engine.

Anyone have some tips? Tricks? Pointers? Want to come by for all you can eat pizza and beer? :)

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

With my SM 465 I usually unbolt the tranny from the bellhousing while it's still in the truck. Makes the tranny more manuverable IMO. The bell and clutch junk is easy after that.

Shouldn't be much different than an SFA truck.

Rene

3. zcarczar

zcarczar 1/2 ton status

I did a clutch on a NV4500 at work and its much much easier to seperate the tranny from the bell housing than removing the tranny with the bellhousing still attached. its 4 bolts that are pretty easy to get to instead of 6 that are blocked by the tranny.

4. Pookster

Pookster 1/2 ton status

Will I need any specialty tools like a spline tool?