Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Setting base timing - TBI w/MSD

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Can Can, Jun 9, 2006.

1. Can Can

Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

I'm new to the whole TBI thing, and I need some help with this one.

On a TBI motor, I've benn told that you're supposed to unplug the tan/black wire to take the computer out of the mix in order to check the base timing. Well, my truck has an MSD box wired into the harness, and when I unplug the tan/black wire, the motor dies instantly. According to my mechanic buddy, it should idle a little differently, but not die.

So, how do I go about bypassing the computer to check the base timing?

2. btolenti

btolenti 1/2 ton status

Are you sure you are pulling the right wire apart????

I would post this in the MSD forums. They are pretty good at getting back to you...

http://msdignition.com/

Have you tried bypassing the MSD unit and see if it works then?

3. JEBSR

JEBSR 1/2 ton status

Is it running poorly, like the timming is retarded? The reason I ask is that if your pulling the correct plug apart and it is dying it could be because someone else set the timming with the plug connected. This would cause the timming to be retarded enough that it may die when computer advance is not applied (wire disconnected). Just a thought anyway

4. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

I got rid of my MSD when I installed fuel injection. Therobzilla has MSD with his TPI and he said it has caused "ghosts" in the motor with codes and such other problems that go away when the MSD is disconnected. After running my TPI system without the MSD I saw no reason to run the MSD.