Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

setting idle

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84k5, Sep 27, 2003.

  1. 84k5

    84k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 13, 2000
    Posts:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, CA
    Need to set idle on my stock 84 w/ 305. I'm having a problem locating the right screw I need to adjust. It is the stock carb. Also, where is this solonoid I need to unplug??? TIA
     
  2. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    4 barrel? 2 small screws on the sides of the carb near the front, screw them in until you lose rpms.then back them out again until its where you want it..IIRC
     
  3. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    That's the idle mixture. There's also an idle speed adjustment screw where the throttle linkage connects to the carb.
     
  4. Pookster

    Pookster 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Posts:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC, NY, USA
    is there an idle adjustment for the TBI's?
     
  5. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    There is a provision to turn your idle up, but you shouldn't ever have to mess with it.
     
  6. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    Yeah, I had to mess with the idle on my Grand National, but it didn't really do any good. I can't exactly remember where the screw is, IIRC it's not even near the throttle body.
     

Share This Page