Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Shakle flip ?

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by earl87gta, Oct 20, 2003.

  1. earl87gta

    earl87gta 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chuckey TN
    will the shakle flip from a '73-87 GM 1-ton 4" lift work with my 72 blazer I thought abought buying a used set.
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    I have looked on the ORD site and it says it will not work. 1 ton shackle flip is all by itself.
     
  3. earl87gta

    earl87gta 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chuckey TN
    I looked to and seen that Im just wondering how much of a diffrence thier is. They may still work just not a dirrect bolt in.
     
  4. morphed86k10

    morphed86k10 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno Nevada
    The reason they don't work is because the spring pad width is two inches narrower on the 1 tons, so the flip brackets stay much closer to the frame. There really isn't a decent way to make the flip brackets from a one ton work on a 1/2 or 3/4 ton vehicle.
     
  5. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    The height from the frame and the offset from the frame will be different so the later 1-ton flip won't work on the early truck. The spring perches on the axle are the same between the early trucks and the later 1-tons, but the frame width and bracket height varies.
     

Share This Page