Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

She stalls when I put her in gear ?!?!?!?

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by pornorob, Jun 21, 2003.

  1. pornorob

    pornorob 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ;jkl;
    Does anyone out there have an idea what would cause my truck to stall every time I put it in gear? The engine idles fine and it has an automatic tranny. I'm lost so any Ideas would be appreciated. Thanx


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Topdown

    Topdown 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Posts:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Washington, U.S.A
    mine does/did the same thing. Finally I got fed up with it and took it to a local performance shop. Not the kind you see when your driving around all flashy and whatnot with Honda's in the parking lot... I mean the kind where the building is the same since it opened in in 1964, same sign and most importantly same mechanics... The owner (Rick of Rick's service garage) worked on it all day, rebuilt the brand new carb and found metal filings in the idle circuit... he also found an exhaust leak. However, the most important reason he told me that it wouldnt idle in gear was because my stock tranny/torque converter were unable to deal with the new torque of the engine at idle and it would drag the rpm down too low for it to continue running with the lumpy cam.
    Hope some of that helps...
     
  3. pornorob

    pornorob 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ;jkl;
    what tranny or torque did he recommend, mine are both stock nad the tranny is a th-350
     
  4. Topdown

    Topdown 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Posts:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Washington, U.S.A
    When I talked with Rick he recommended a "2200 or so" stall based on my truck weight cam lope and TH350 trans. When I called Comp they recommended a 2200 - 2400. So I called a few other performance shops (Ricks garage type) and they all recommeded a 2000+.

    So, I went with stock /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif just kidding. I went with a 2400.
     
  5. 69K5

    69K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Posts:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monroe, LA
    i would have tp go with the carb needing rebuilt or idle adjusted. what kind of carb? theres a screw for in park and one for in gear . mine did great after a rebuild. it was just 30 years of crap and wearing

    nathan
     
  6. pornorob

    pornorob 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ;jkl;
    I've got an edelbrock 750cfm and I don't really know how to tune it any advice is worth a try especially before I put in a new torque converter.
     
  7. rrent

    rrent 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Posts:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, Texas
    Sounds like the torque converter was called for due to the lumpy idle hotrod cam.

    My suggestion would be to determine (might have to read the paper work that came with your carb -- I'm a Holley guy - so not sure about your carb) if you have the distributor advance hooked to a vacuum port above or below the throttle blades ------ if above the blades the vacuum is supplied to the distributor when you give it gas (advancing the timing)-- if below throttle blades the vacuum is supplied when you let of the gas (again advancing the timing).

    With everything stock I would try to hook the distributor to the port below the blades. That will pull the timing in when you are idling.

    Next using the same manifold (under throttle blades) port hook up a vacuum gauge (You can find another vacuum port on the manifold or you might need to buy a little plastic tee). Try to adjust the idle for the maximum vacuum.

    Sorry for the long rambling explanation the -- I'm sure a good book would be more precise and possibly even a little clearer.

    good luck
     
  8. Chris_T

    Chris_T 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    good ideas ... and with the vacuum gauge on there advance and retard the timing a bit and see what that does. Make sure your mechanical advance weights aren't stuck open as well. Sounds like a vacuum problem to me too.

    In the absence of a timing light I've timed my engine by vacuum at idle.
     
  9. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    I second the vaccum problem

    ARQ.
     

Share This Page