Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Shipping a toolbox full of tools

Discussion in 'The Tool Shed' started by bigjbear, Feb 2, 2006.

  1. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Looks like I might have to go on the road for a few months (work related). I will need my tool box, of course, and if I take the contract in PHX or Evert, WA it will need to be shipped. I'll be using small road box; its 18"x28"x27" with the wheels off.

    Anyone ever ship something like this? It wil be full of tools and heavy. It is also going to be worth a lot of money (not so muct the box as its contents). Any tips or even horror stories? I'm thinking it will need to go truck freight on a pallet, if it does I might as well take my big box.

    I may just say screw it and stay in the SE for now. Anyone in ATL want to hire an aircraft mech?
     
  2. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    UPS takes some pretty heavy boxes these days and their insurance is cheap. Just make sure to mic the walls and make sure it's thick enough to not dent easily.
     
  3. chevyfumes

    chevyfumes Court jester

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    38,584
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Watch for the muzzleflash!
    And if you have any magnets on it make sure to take them off during transport...
     
  4. grimjaw

    grimjaw 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Posts:
    944
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seymour, TN
    I would fully crate it, just to hide it from eyes that may be tempted.
     
  5. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    just understand if it is stainless it will get quite a few dents during the shipping process
     
  6. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ok ok, I was actually being serious. Pack it and see if it weighs under like 120 pounds, then UPS will take it. Any abuse they put it through will be significantly less than the hell it would see if you shipped it truck freight.
     
  7. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Maybe I should have called it a tool receptical. It is mde from a special that is undentable, unrustable, and supporting of magnents. Oh wait that's not true its just a cheep POS that I don't care about-you can put magnets on it though.
     
  8. chevyfumes

    chevyfumes Court jester

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    38,584
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Watch for the muzzleflash!
    Yeah but did you buy it a costco or home depot.
     
  9. TSGB

    TSGB 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Posts:
    12,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centralia, Washington
    Evert? I don't think there's such a place. We do have an Everett though...

    :D
     
  10. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA

    Duh, if Wal-Mart ain't got it you don't need it!

    You guys suck, you've got me hijacking my own thread.
     
  11. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    What do I know, I'm just folowing the money. You know anything about this so-called Everett?
     
  12. TSGB

    TSGB 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Posts:
    12,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centralia, Washington
    Nope. It's north, and somewhere in the mess of big cities I hate being in. :dunno:
     
  13. Cricket

    Cricket 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I'd think any freight company would haul it.

    Check out www.freightquote.com and talk to a rep. They were pretty helpful last time I chatted with them.
     
  14. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    thanks for the link
     
  15. Cricket

    Cricket 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    You're welcome!

    Just make sure to call and talk direct for an accurate quote. They should pick it up at your place if needed.
     
  16. clarkjw24

    clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    McBee, SC 29101
    I've flown and checked 3 large tool boxes. I don't know the weight limit at the air port but if one man could pick it up they didn't seem to care.
     
  17. SkulzNBonz

    SkulzNBonz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    4,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Just make sure it ain't a crappy tool box that won't take the abuse:D
    That said, crate it up before you ship it, and under no circumstances send it SAIA.

    John
     
  18. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    It is very crappy and will not take the abuse. Good thing about aviation, plenty of rivets. Slap on a doubler and rivet it back together, if it works on an airplane you can bet it will work on a toolbox.
     
  19. Cricket

    Cricket 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Duct tape works on wings, should work on your toolbox.
     
  20. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    It sure does (no I did not use it on a commercial aircraft)
     

Share This Page