Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Silly hub question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bking, Mar 21, 2001.

1. bking

bking 1/2 ton status

ok, ok, I'm new to this............
    When I shift my 85 K5 into 4Hi, is it in 4 wheel drive even though the hubs aren't locked?

2. BadDog

BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

No, shifting to 4 Hi engages the transfer case so that the front axle is driven (front drive shaft will turn) but the hubs are not locked so the tires receive no power.

Bad Dog

85 K30 CUCV, 350 TBI, TH400, NP205, D60/C14, 4.56
    Coming soon: 4" lift, 40" tires, massive cutting, shorter wb and rear overhang.

3. Sparky

Sparky 1/2 ton status

San Antonio(summer) Texas A and M (school year)
    Do you have auto locking hubs? If so yes. (as long as they are working) If not no. You have to get out and lock the hubs.

When all else fails... Check the blinker fluid.
    78 K-5

4. BadDog

BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

When he said "even though the hubs aren't locked" I took that to mean manual hubs. Maybe not...

Hmm, were autos even available on 85s? I'm not sure when they started using them.

Bad Dog

85 K30 CUCV, 350 TBI, TH400, NP205, D60/C14, 4.56
    Coming soon: 4" lift, 40" tires, massive cutting, shorter wb and rear overhang.

5. bking

bking 1/2 ton status