Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Site problems yesterday...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by CK5, Sep 13, 2005.

  1. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Long story short, about half of LA lost power yesterday and guess where the CK5 server is located? :rolleyes:
    Anyway, sorry for the outage. :D
     
  2. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    At least it's back now, I had to surf Pirate all last night. :rolleyes:


    :haha: :haha: :haha:
     
  3. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I was having withdrawals.... I think I've turned into a geek :rolleyes:
    man I need to go ahead and join this place soon, just gotta get cash :doah:
     
  4. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Oh I thought my computer was trippin.
    what's weird is that I live about 5 minutes from downtown L.A and wasn't effected by the power outage. anyways glad CK5 is working now.
     
  5. BozoWise

    BozoWise 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I was happy when it came back up, but I keep getting the you can't make a multiple post in 30sec error. Heck I was so geeked out last night that I copied my reply to notepad so I wouldn't have to type it again today :D
     
  6. cbbr

    cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    14,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High velocity, Low altitude
    So it's really LAK5? :doah: :D
     
  7. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yeah I was in withdrawl....
     
  8. nc87k5

    nc87k5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Posts:
    5,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    so Can Can told me. good thing for a few of those I have on my buddy list for msn messenger, I'd been lost without some kind of CK5 contact :D .
     
  9. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,015
    Likes Received:
    848
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    it was wierd I could ping it but it had a 50% packet loss. I thought it was my computer trippin but it did it on 3 out of 3 computers. thanks for the update steve. Keep up the good work :thumb:
     
  10. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    what really bothered me was when it came back and I could read but not reply to a thing. oh well its back now.
     
  11. txfiremank5

    txfiremank5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX.
    Since I was (I think) the last one to post (mug shot post) I'm pretty sure my pic broke the system. :crazy:

    Sorry for the outage, guys. :dunno:
     
  12. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    I thought terrorists had launched one of their most devastating attacks, knocking out CK5. I was getting ready to give somebody an azz whoopin'. :D
     
  13. big_truxx

    big_truxx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Posts:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canaan, Maine
    well at ;east i can post again :D told me i cant post more than once per 30 secs and it was my first post at one point yesterday lol
     
  14. stallion85

    stallion85 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar City, UT

    That's some mug!! :haha:

    I was a little weirded out myself....glad everything is back on track :wink1:
     
  15. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I did some poking around while it was out of whack. It appeared that the system BIOS lost the date when the server powered down. Best I could tell, the server thought that the date was sometime in 2001. :confused: I'm sure that was "breaking" all of the code that uses date and time to compute how to order posts, etc.
     
  16. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,623
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    CO
    Harry, that is exactly what happened, came back with the date of Aug 2 2002. :eek1:
     

Share This Page