Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Site speed?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by CK5, Dec 23, 2003.

  1. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,627
    Likes Received:
    704
    Location:
    CO
    I just found an error on a secondary page and when I fixed that the forums now seem very fast for me anyway, how about you?
    I need to know if I have to keep looking. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  2. crwln73

    crwln73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Posts:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clovis,Ca
    It seems to be working very well.I see a huge differance.Keep up the good work. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Its better /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    John
     
  4. slimlynn1

    slimlynn1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Posts:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamden, CT
    Way better than before!!
     
  5. 89K1500Chevy

    89K1500Chevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, Fayetteville
    yeah it is faster now also for those of you using Intardnet Xploder if you switch over to Mozilla(its free) it can be much faster browser and it blocks all pop ups so you dont have to worry about your scrn gettin covered in under 5 secs. www.mozilla.com
     
  6. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    its faster now, last night it was super lagggggg even with DSL here,

    how do you switch to mozilla ? wheres instructions details on how to ? where to get it from, what all do you do to enable mozilla and disable IE ?
     
  7. JK5

    JK5 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Posts:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Norton, Oh
    That's much faster!!!! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  8. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    http://texturizer.net/firebird/

    Go to download on the left hand side, then click where it says Windows(6.0MB). That will download the zip file. Then just unzip it and run the .exe It will ask you if you want to make it your default browser. You'll have to do things like download the Flash and Java plugins if you ever need them, and it will give you directions how to do that. If you play around with Firebird for a while you'll find little tweaks and things you can do to it. By the way, Firebird is the same thing as Mozilla, it's just the browser by itself, Mozilla has all kinds of extras like e-mail and stuff that you probably don't need.
     
  9. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Mo betta........... /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  10. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    much better /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  11. Leadfoot

    Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    I guess I'm the oddball as usual. The site seems much slower for me now. It took almost a full minute for this post to load and I'm on a T3 line here at work (usually as fast as I click it, it loads). I thought it might be due to everyone doing last minute online christmas shopping, but I have no problems with other sites. Maybe it's just a fluke here, but since you were asking.....

    I understand you have a lot to do, so have a great holiday and keep up the good work /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  12. TONYP

    TONYP 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    so cal
    took 1 minute to load the post...very slow and I'm on a T1 line... /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     
  13. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Still kinda slow on my end, but it may just be this time of day. Alot of activity on the net about now, and Midco-net isn't the biggest ISP, but they are cable. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  14. Lance

    Lance 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham, Alabama
    SSSSLLLOOOOWWWWW. I'm on DSL at work and it took well over a minute just to pull up the "Garage".
     
  15. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,085
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Still slow for me as well (T1 connection).
     
  16. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,627
    Likes Received:
    704
    Location:
    CO
    /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif I will keep looking at it, seems at times it is super fast then others it slows to a crawl, I have noticed it the most at the main index page. Will fix this problem one way or another. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  17. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    slow for me as well again /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     
  18. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    it slow and then betetr and then slow again now, humm

    haha

    site doesnt know what it wants to do


    crazy stuff

    what kind of page errors ?
     
  19. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    [ QUOTE ]
    /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif I will keep looking at it, seems at times it is super fast then others it slows to a crawl, /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Same here... Good for a while, and extremely slow at others.

    Work is T1 home is cable.

    John
     
  20. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,181
    Likes Received:
    1,388
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Seems to vary from tolerable to outright brutal. The slowest is when choosing "Main Index".

    I'm on cable and more than half the time it will take over a minute for a page to load. PM's seeem quite slow too.


    Rene
     

Share This Page