Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Sky Diving...Who's done it????

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by BlazerGuy, Jan 16, 2004.

1. BlazerGuy

BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

Sky Diving...Who\'s done it????

I want to go sky diving on Spring Break. Anyone here done it? Tips? Tricks?? Stories?? Thanks

2. landsmasher

landsmasher 1/2 ton status

Re: Sky Diving...Who\'s done it????

Hmmmm.. Funny you should ask... I've been jumping for over 20 years now. What would you like to know?

For your first time I would go with the Tandem Jump. They hook you up to an instructor with a harness and you get out of the plane at 12,500 feet. You both come down under a large square canopy and it's all over in just s few minutes. Tandems open at about 5000 feet so your freefall time is a little shorter than an experienced jumper gets. We open at about 2000 feet.

It's a great thrill and something you may find yourself wanting to do as a sport. Let me know if you have any specific questions. I'll try to answer them the best I can.

That's me on the left. This dive is called a "Horny Gorilla" where we are all on our backs.

[​IMG]

Here we are exiting the plane for that dive.

[​IMG]

3. Stickseler

Stickseler 3/4 ton status

Did it once or twice or 11 times in the Marines...But nothing really fun or exciting like those Recon bastards did....but I wasn't bitter or anything like that /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

4. BlazerGuy

BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

[ QUOTE ]
    But nothing really fun or exciting like those Recon bastards

[/ QUOTE ]
    That's actually what got me thinking about sky diving. I'm interested in becoming a Recon Marine so I figured I'd try it out before I went in! Thanks for the replies...

5. Hustler

Hustler 1/2 ton status

Stickseler,