Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Slipping Tranny

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by flamin_browneye, Dec 25, 2004.

  1. flamin_browneye

    flamin_browneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    When I go around corners or I put it in reverese I seem to lose power to the wheels. I was told that this could happen if there wasn't enought fluid in the tranny, is that right or what else could it be? The tranny is a 700r4.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2004
  2. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Hahahaha! nice screen name. LOL!

    Check the fluid level. When it is hot, running, and in park.
    Maybe a clogged filter or missing one of the orings on the filter pickup tube could cause this?
     
  3. XHitman396

    XHitman396 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Posts:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    when a tranny slips, it means your clutches are not locking up, due to fried clutches or lack of pressure. low pressure can be caused by simply low fluid, a clogged filter, or maybe a worn pump or defective seal
     
  4. flamin_browneye

    flamin_browneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    about to months ago i changed the filter and gasket. How many o-rings needed to be on there i know for sure there was one on it.
     
  5. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    did you remove the old one, they get stuck in the pump and sometimes can be a pain to remove.

    if oyu didn't remove the old one, then there is 2 and you didn;t get the filter in all the way and may have cracked the filter when you tightened the pan
     
  6. flamin_browneye

    flamin_browneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    No that's why i know there is one on there for sure, because when i was putting the new one in it didn't quite fit. So i pulled it back out and the old o-ring was there with the new one, but i didnt know if you were suppose to have more than one on there.
     
  7. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Not to bash my own tranny, but, every other day there is a "My 700 is toast " type thread in here, i would rip it out, and change it to a 465,later, Jake
     

Share This Page