Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

slipping tranny

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by shaun, Apr 11, 2005.

  1. shaun

    shaun 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Posts:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just placed a supposed rebuilt 400 and it slips. Som B***h. Is there anything I can do to try and fix this w/o pulling the tranny
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Made sure its full of fluid after you started the engine and ran through all the tranny gears?
     
  3. shaun

    shaun 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Posts:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did that
     
  4. matto

    matto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    uncasville ct
    how bad does it slip. my th350 needs to be rebuilt but i put in anti-slip trans fluid and it made a huge difference. you can try that but if it is real bad i am not sure what to do.
     
  5. louied

    louied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Posts:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    try some Lucas Trans Additive! IT worked for me !
     
  6. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,577
    Likes Received:
    945
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    Make sure..

    Check the modulator valve,and make sure it has good vacuum at its hose when engine is running--a bad modulator valve will have tranny fluid on the hose connection side if its diaphram is ruptured...and that will reduce the line pressure to the clutches,and let them slip...also a partially blocked filter can cause silppage too,or one that has a missing or broken gasket can too..but there is always the possibility something was not done right during the rebuild also...hope not.. :crazy:
     

Share This Page