Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

sm465 and 205 combo...how the h*ll does the t-case mount to the frame!?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by broncoman6524, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    on that truck im buildin i couldnt remember how the 205 mounts into the frame...

    does it go. like this

    the 2 rubber mounts on the frame
    then the metal isolator
    then to more rubber mounts on the crossmember thingy comin off the case
    OR
    2 rubber mounts
    metal isolator
    crossmember
    then teh 2 more rubbers?

    heres a pic of how i kinda rigged it up so it was held on and i could get to work ontime. lol
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. 70jimmy

    70jimmy 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Posts:
    5,959
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Released from Pueblo, told I belong in Southpark
    http://www.lmctruck.com/icatalog/cc/0058.asp


    That might help you.

    I looked at mine which is a 70 with an auto and 205 and it goes 2 rubber on top of frame then the isolator (metal piece with rounded corners), 2 rubber pieces, bracket from transfer case, 2 more rubber pieces then the angle from the side of the frame. *** now some of the rubber pieces are probably the part that sticks thru the hole to the othere side. I will see if I can snap a pic
     
  3. tarussell

    tarussell 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bagdad , FL
    The problem might be that you are putting an older case with the side mount in a later model frame that now curves instead of staying straight down the frame rails. The Blazer frame changed at some point in the late seventy's after that mount was discountinued.

    Tom
     
  4. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    huh....when i bought the frame. the case was in there...somehow. lol

    anysuggestions?
     
  5. tarussell

    tarussell 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bagdad , FL
    Fab up a new bracket and make it attatch to the frame like the O.E.M. one did . Some quality work with some large angle would probably do the trick .

    Tom
     
  6. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    care to explain what you mean? like how i would make it mount?
     
  7. fatbob

    fatbob 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Posts:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Az
    I didnt think they were used with the standard transmissions.:confused:
    A friend had a '74 with a th350 and frame mount t/c bracket,
    I had a '76 with a th350 and no bracket broke the tranny case 3 times:mad:
    Then I had a '77 with the support rod that goes from the engine to the t/case, best version IMHO.

    But I thought its purpose was to support the fragile aluminium tranny case from the torque stresses.
    The cast iron 465 case is more than strong enough to handle it. Have you ever heard of one breaking?

    Just sell it to an auto tranny and put the money in the project fund.:D
     
  8. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    ah...but see ive got a th400 in my dd and HATE IT. i get so frickin bored! plus low gear. plus 2lo. plus probaly 4.88s and 38.5= whoopin burnout...lol
     
  9. fatbob

    fatbob 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Posts:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Az
    Sorry, I meant to say sell the bracket to someone with an auto tranny, cause you probably dont really need it.
     
  10. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    oh...i gotcha. lol
     
  11. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,539
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    if thats all the parts you got. then you are missing a bracket.

    205 tcase brace 001.jpg

    205 tcase brace 002.jpg
     
  12. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    hmmm. i believe that is in my pile of parts...:doah: i bet that would go over hwat i already have TEHN i bolt it down correct?
     
  13. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,539
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    undo the nut on the top of the rubber you have in the pic. then set this ontop and bolt all down. and bolt threw side of frame rail.
    i have never done one. but seen the blow up pic. wished i saved it tho. :doah:
     
  14. tarussell

    tarussell 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bagdad , FL
    That bracket is for the reverse , or back lash torque , and it goes on the top side of the two rubbers.
    I thought your question was how to mount that bracket up to the frame in that picture ? Is the bend in the frame rails the problem or is it the missing parts to the bracket assy . ???

    Tom
     
  15. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    my orignial qeustoin was basically was that the right way to mount it? and i figure it out now. lol.

    thanks k30 for the pic and taursell!
    done.
    bracket
    [​IMG]
    finished product. ill clean it all up when iget poly mounts.
    [​IMG]
     
  16. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,539
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    i see you also have the hd crossmember in that frame also. :eek1: :D

    i wish thay made one for the 1tons. oh well. :(

    and the ears wont swap ether. frame is taller.:doah:
     

Share This Page