Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

sm465 clutch link removal

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by chebywanna, Jun 24, 2003.

1. chebywanna

chebywanna 1/2 ton status

im pulling out sm465 out of my truck and can't get the part that mounts to the frame on one side and to the tranny on other to come off, whats the trick? i took the nut off the frame side of it but that didn't help any. (the rotating pipe type thing)

2. arq

arq 1/2 ton status

you talking about the Z-bar?? I think you need to disconnect the linkage that goes to the pedal. there's probably some pressure on there that's binding it. once you take it off the frame side pull out on it. it just slides into a rotating ball/shaft.
    ARQ.

3. K1Orion

K1Orion 1/2 ton status

I'm no expert but I think you have to take the bracket thats riveted to the frame off.
    I just swapped a 465 into my K10 and the only way I could see to get the Z bar(pipe thingy) off is to either drop the trans and bellhousing or remove the rivets that hold the bracket to the frame.
    The nut you mentioned is on the stud that is on the Z bar. This is the pivot point for the linkage. It must be removed to take the Z bar out. But since the Zbar is sandwiched between the ball on the bellhousing and the bracket on the frame, you must remove 1 of the 2 to get it out.
    When I did my swap I torched off the rivets on the bracket of the donor and bolted it to the frame on the new truck so it can be removed easily later.
    hope this is some /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

4. chebywanna