Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

SM465 Hydro conversion help/tips experience?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by TopOff, Apr 21, 2002.

  1. TopOff

    TopOff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, ca
    OK, I got a '73 Blazer with Howell TBI 383.

    Woohoo The doubler buidlup begins

    Time to ditch the TH350/203 and install a SM465/203/205 .

    I still need a flywheel and clutch.
    I have the OEM bellhousing, but just for FUN I called the local wrecker and asked if he has a Hydro setup!... He said he does!!! HOLY COW, I SAY I am coming down! He said, no I am closing. I said, OK Monday!

    Any tips on installing a Hydro setup in a 2nd gen?

    TIA
    TopOff
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,170
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Get all the parts you can. The pedal hangers (for brake and clutch) Clutch master, slave cylinder, all the lines...

    MJ has a complete parts list. you might want to send him a pm...

    Rene
     
  3. TopOff

    TopOff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, ca
    The guy at the yard, said he will hook me up. I requested the bell, slave, master, pedals, and line... do I need BOTH Brake and MASTER pedal and assembly?

    I already have the brake, clutch pedal assembly from the previous years...

    TIA
     
  4. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes.
    you will have to do some work to mount the slave.
    I swapped to an 87 cab and it has the mounting indents for the slave that i really doubt the old cab has.
     
  5. TopOff

    TopOff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, ca
    Would this just be a question of drilling some holes for the mounting of the pedal assembly?

    Or drilling some holes for the master clutch rod to come through the firewall?

    TO
     
  6. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the pedal assembly should bolt in.
    the slave mounting will be hard part.
    it sits at a real odd angle, under the brake booster.
    would be a good idea to hit the wreckers and compare some stripped cabs firewall area to see what you are up against.
    if anyone had a bare cab to shoot pics of that may come in handy,
    you may even be able to cut the slave mount out of a cab and splice it in.
    would be a good time to swap in a rust free tub

    the cab i swapped in was a 2wdr auto so all the firewalls after 85ish have the slave mount indicated
     
  7. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    MJ, Can you post your link to those pics and GM part numbers again for the clutch pedal assembly and stuff...Thanks man...

    Chris
     
  8. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/album/13180252EPlFnPcEPJ>http://community.webshots.com/album/13180252EPlFnPcEPJ</a>

    I will see if I can shoot a pic of slave mounted
     
  9. TopOff

    TopOff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, ca
    Thanks for the info all.

    Has anyone done this on an early chevy?

    TO
     

Share This Page