Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

sm465 to 700r4

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by gravdigr, Jan 27, 2005.

  1. gravdigr

    gravdigr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyrone, PA
    My dd is a sm465/np208 combo. Can I swap in a 700r4 in place of the 465? Will the tcase work with the tranny or will I need a 208 that came with a 700r4?
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    You need a 208 from a 4 speed or th400 truck , or you need to get a 32 spline input shaft and use your own 208 :k5: :k5:
     
  3. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    you may have to redrill where the crossmember is. you will need the np208 from a 700r4 or th350 and the adapter from a 700r4. you will also need to get a lockup setup, wether it be factory, aftermarket or internal. if you don't you will burn the tranny up.

    the nice thing about doing this on the newer trucks, is that the driveshafts are the same for both setups.
     
  4. mechted

    mechted 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    766
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Granbury, TX
    your current 208 has a 32 spline input, you will need one with a 27 spline input to mate to a 700r4... from what i understand, you can just change the input on the 208, will require a full tear down, but its easier (and cheaper) than changing the 700r4 output to 32 spline
     
  5. gravdigr

    gravdigr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyrone, PA
    OK, it seems I may be better off just getting a 700r4/208 combo and just swap the whole thing. Will I need a different length driveshaft or will they be the same? This is on an 86 K5.

    EDIT: nm, I think big83 answered that question for me. Thanks for the info.
     
  6. Blazer1970

    Blazer1970 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Old Mission, MI
    Find someone who wants to swap the other way and trade parts with them. Seems like I see plenty of people wanting to go auto to manual. Or maybe just trade trucks with them. :grin: :grin: It would be a lot less work.
     
  7. gravdigr

    gravdigr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyrone, PA
    I want the hydraulic clutch and bellhousing for my trail rig. It won't be too hard for me to find a 700r4/208 already mated together out here.
     
  8. k5blazin

    k5blazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, PA
    i have a 700/208 combo in my parts blazer if you are interested. the tranny is blown though.
     
  9. Storm Trooper

    Storm Trooper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2000
    Posts:
    4,640
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dillon Colorado, Hang'in in the mountains. Renting
    I'm think of going auto on of these days but when I do, I'll go TH400 and a doubler.
     

Share This Page