Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Small Block to Big Block Swap Questions?>>>>

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Burt4x4, Dec 8, 2003.

1. Burt4x4

Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

I have never done this and I am just getting started.
    Does the Trany & Xfer have to be moved at all when going from SBC to BBC?
    Or is it that the engine mounts in a diferent spot or is it all the same???
    AHHHHHHHHHH
    Any and ALL swap info you all have experianced please share with me in my quest for knowledge /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
    Late

2. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

Should just bolt in. Just use the big block mounts( thogh I think that it doesn't matter ) . All the brackets need to be changed for alternantor etc. Transmission stays in the same place.

3. Greg72

Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

Firewall clearance on the BBC valvecovers will be an issue. Also, the distributor (large body one at least) will be tight....

There were some factory valve covers from GM that were specially built to create better clearance at the firewall (some kind of Corvette application perhaps?)... I'd probably try for that as a solution vs. pounding the firewall out of the way, which is what the PO did to mine. /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif

I know for a fact that the 396BBC is a direct bolt-in for a 350SBC. I'm not sure if the 454 uses a different motor mount setup or not. Either way, the tranny can stay put and at the worst, you'd need to move the engine crossmember slightly to accomodate the swap.