Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

So how stupid am i

Discussion in 'The Tool Shed' started by Caseyrey, Mar 22, 2006.

1. Caseyrey

Caseyrey Registered Member

I was looking at the breaker box on the house with my dad and i dont know if i will be able to have the air compressor wired. There is like four empty slots but the last two breakers that were added were 30 amps for the pool and to my knowledge i think the only things that arent 110v are the pool and a/c anyone that could help with any advice cause im a stupid noob thanks in advance

2. ramjet gmc

ramjet gmc CK5 Staff Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

3. BadDog

BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

If there are extra slots, and you've got the capacity (total amps) available in the box, then you can just add an appropriate breaker to create a new circuit. Most all boxes support 110 or 220 depending on whether the breaker straddles one or two rails (110 or 220). Just be careful, you can get hurt or killed messing around in there if you don't know what your doing. Might want to find a friend who has some experience to at least help you through it.

Looking at the plug may not help, many come with no plug on the welder. Look for a tag on the compressor or motor itself.

4. Leper

Leper 1/2 ton status

You can almost always add a sub panel.

5. BadDog

Yes, but only if the main has the capacity.

6. Caseyrey