Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

So I have these axles....

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Blue84K10, Dec 21, 2005.

1. Blue84K10

Blue84K10 Registered Member

My friend just gave me a set of axles (12bolt chevy), leaf springs and blocks for a rancho four inch lift, and a 203 transfer case. I have a 84 short box with a manual four speed, that has a 1978 400cubic in V8. I also have 10 bolt axles right now. I was thinking about putting a rear disk brake kit on the axles before the install. Since I am new to this "SUPER NEWBIE" I was looking for suggestions on what I should to do the axles now before they are installed. Any tips concering preventive maintanaince and such. If you have any other suggestions or helpful advice please let me know. Thanks in advance :D

2. bigbadchev84

bigbadchev84 1/2 ton status

sell it and buy a 14bff then never look back

3. alf4444

alf4444 1/2 ton status

agreed if you are going to spend the time to swap an axle put in a 14 b:D

4. pvfjr

pvfjr 1/2 ton status

Put in a 14-bolt, and join http://www.krazyk5.com.:D
    The 12 bolt is stronger than the 10 bolt, but not enough to make a big difference. I wouldn't say it's worth the work of the disk brake conversion either. A 14 bolt can be had for VERY cheap around here, I basically just had a guy pay me to take one if you do the math a certain way.

5. Blue84K10

Okie dokie I get it, so now it it time to go look for a 14bolt for praticaly free... Umm anyone know a good place to start looking around Seattle? Again I am a newbie with no shop connections. The 12bolts do have warn locking hubs so I am thinking of taking those and keeping them. Thanks for the help I guess I will start looking =)

6. bigbadchev84

bigbadchev84 1/2 ton status