Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

So whatcha all use for hand cleaner?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dremu, Jan 24, 2005.

1. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

I'm getting used to having black hands ... but my day job is kinda white-collar, office-like ... so I'm curious what's good to keep me clean enough to sell my soul do Da Man five days a week :D

Yes, I know, nitrile gloves ... but I can't wear them all weekend, they make me sweat and I can't manipulate little bolts and such.

I got some stuff called Orange Clean or Speedy Orange or somesuch; it does a decent job of getting the grease off ... any other idears?

-- A

2. jekquistk5

jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Anything with pumice or a scrub brush! It works for me but I only work on my k5 like 4-5 times a month not everyday!

3. OrangeCrushK10

OrangeCrushK10 1/2 ton status

Dish soap. You know, the stuff that's "Soft on hands, but tough on grease." It's specially made to take grease and oil off plates, so it works well on taking grease and oil off hands too. Plus it's cheap and comes in a wide variety of scents. :D

4. big_truxx

big_truxx 1/2 ton status

bingo! I use Dawn. And the back side of a sponge. ya know, the 2 sided sponges that have one reg side and a "scrubby" side. That works great for me :grin: And I have been working on various farm equip mopst of my life. Some summer days when the bulldozer was down and in the middle of a job turned into long greasy nights to get it back up asap. I used to look like I was dropped head first into a vat of black grease :grin: I miss them days.

5. tiger9297

tiger9297 1/2 ton status