Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

SOAPBOX: Facts vs. Opinions...

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by txbartman, Jan 31, 2002.

1. txbartman

txbartman 1/2 ton status

Gotta get on my soapbox for a minute... Then I'll go back to bein' my easy goin' self...

This board has been incredibly valuable to me in the whole effort I have entered into with my Jimmy. I have saved countless hundreds with advice from people on here. I have also learned a ton and done things I never thought I would do. I was a shadetree mechanic in high school, but hadn't really picked up a wrench in YEARS. I did the typical brake jobs and such, but nothing serious. Now I have lifted my rig, built a 350 and swapped it into the rig, and installed new axle gears and lockers! Stuff I never thought I could do.

But... One thing that really irks me off is when people use this board as a medium to convey their opinions as fact. Opinions are great. We can't all know everything, but I am sure we all have lots of opinions. And it is perfectly acceptable to express your opinion as long as it is conveyed as such. Opinions conveyed as FACTS are WRONG.

Here are a couple of examples: