Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Soft top questions

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Storm24m, Apr 30, 2002.

1. Storm24m

Storm24m 1/2 ton status

Now that I have my blazer on the way (1st gen) I have a few questions about soft tops.

First, what do you all think is the best top overall?

How well do the seal? Especially around the windshield and doors.

Do the tops fold back like a convertible? If yes, how long does it take to do it? Anyone have any pics of one folded back?

Answers to these questions and any other info you think is important would be very helpful. Thanks

2. 86blazerk5

86blazerk5 1/2 ton status

3. cleszkie

cleszkie 1/2 ton status

I have been using a Bestop softtop on my 72 K5 for about 2 years now. My observations are as follows:

1) Fit around front door glass is marginal, but will keep most rain out. Fit around bed area is good. It doesn't rain much in southern Cali, so my top is mainly a sun shade.
    2) The quality of the velcro is marginal and the zippers on the rear "hatch" are way too light-duty in my opinion. They could have gone with a heavier gage zipper. I've had to add snaps where the velcro used to hold.
    3) The quality of the stitching and material is not as good as their Jeep tops. The windows cannot be replaced without replacing the entire top, so you need to baby it if you want to be able to see out the windows a year after you buy it.