Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Some axle confusion...

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by CamaroZ85, Mar 1, 2003.

1. CamaroZ85

CamaroZ85 Registered Member

Are the Dana 44 and Dana 60 rears only for the front?? Or can you get them for the back as well? I see everyone talking about a 14bff rear as the toughest out there to put in the back, is this a Dana rear or a GM corporate rear?? What is the diff between a sff and bff rear? I've searched and come up with the fact that the bff has external "hub" type setups out back, but what exactly does that allow for?? Thanks for your help! I'm a definite noob to the truck world!

2. heavy4x4

heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

The Dana 44 and Dana 60 are front axles and rear axles. However, in the GM vehicles that are discussed on here, they are only found in front applications. 44's were used in the back of many jeeps, and other vehicles. 60's can be found in the rear of Ford vans and trucks. They can be swapped into the back of our vehicles, but it's not as desireable of a swap as the 14 bolt. Yes, the 14 bolt is a GM axle. It appears you know how to identify the 14 bolt semi-floating and full-floating. The practical difference: in a semi-floating axle, the axle shafts themselves drive the tires and support the weight of the vehicle through the bearings. For full floating axles, the axleshafts purely drive the tires. The tires and wheels are on a hub with wheel bearings (like the front axle) and therefore the housing of the axle supports the weight of the vehicle/load.

3. CamaroZ85