Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

some Q's about 52" swap

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by AllamericanK5, Feb 26, 2006.

  1. AllamericanK5

    AllamericanK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    1 Is it very DD
    2 I have about 5.5 to 6 of lift in the rear can i just put stock 52's up front or do i have to get lift springs??
    3 I also im planing on doing cross over will just any 2wd box work with the pitman arm that is on work ?????
     
  2. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,032
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    need lift springs... 52s give ya 4".

    any 2wd box will work... I forget about the pitman arm details tho...been a long time.

    j
     
  3. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,970
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    How DD'able depends on the springs, IMHO, and your driving style. Mine is looser than it was with Rancho 4" no-flex springs :D

    You need not switch the whole box, unless you want to; you can switch just the sector shaft. You will need to change pitman arms at the same time as part of crossover.

    -- A
     
  4. AllamericanK5

    AllamericanK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    sweet thank you much. I was thinking about doing the drill and tap on the flat top my slef how acuate dose it have to be? or should i just take it to some one to do it for me and if soo do you know any one here in the metro area?
     
  5. 468k5

    468k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE Mn.
    so the stock 2wd pitman arm will NOT work?
    If not what do I need?
     
  6. 468k5

    468k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE Mn.
    bump
     
  7. AllamericanK5

    AllamericanK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    some one ne one ???
     
  8. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,970
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    For crossover -- whether or not you're doing 52"'s -- you need something like the Superlift 1104 arm, or a Ford van arm. Both would need to be re-tapered for GM DLE's ...

    http://www.wfoconcepts.com/Steering/Dana44/CrossoverKit.html

    Trevor has a nice setup, for instance; I'm using most of it. (I also did high-steer.)

    He also does the machine work; there are lots of folks, vendors and a few members, here who do it.

    -- A
     
  9. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    You will notice a lot of body roll on a DD doing 52's. Just going the couple blocks to the gas station I really notice the leaning. It's not unbearable, but you can't drive it like a sports car.

    THe WFO kit is great - Trevor's a great guy to deal with and his parts are top notch... That being said, since I'm moving up to a D60, I have a 10-bolt knuckle w/ steering arm for sale $200obo + the ride.
     
  10. Bushido

    Bushido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Would running the sway bar with disconnects help with the body roll and still have the flex off-road?Plan to do the swap as well.
     
  11. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    umm me thinky that with the axle 2 inch further forward sway bar wont work anyway. or with crossover. hmmmm.
     
  12. Bushido

    Bushido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Never thought about the x-over hitting.The swaybar I'm sure wouldn't be hard to fab some mounts for.Might have to rethink this.:rolleyes:
     
  13. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,996
    Likes Received:
    134
    Yeah, you definitely can't have the sway bar in the stock location with crossover. I say ditch the sway bar and deal with it.
     
  14. AllamericanK5

    AllamericanK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    yeah we dont need no stinking saybar lol MTMike were what gears do you have in that 10blot and are you here in colorado???
     

Share This Page