Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Some SBC ideas/questions for people "in the know"

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by big_truxx, Mar 7, 2005.

1. big_truxx

big_truxx 1/2 ton status

I know a good deal about the SBC. I am self-taught so I do not know it all, yet anyway. :D Anyone know where to get a reasonable 3" stroke crank? Also 6.5" con rods? In case you are wondering I am considering making a 302 with long rods for a possible road racing motor in the future. I know a 383 built off a 350 would be the cheapest way to power being more cubes but a 302 with long rods would be more horses at rpm better suited for sustaining my speed. I just looked @ summit and was annoyed with the new layout. Maybe I just need to get used to it but I had an easier time finding items before. :dunno: Plus I didn't see what I wanted there.

2. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

The new summit layout blows. Anyway, I've considered this before. If I were to do it this is what I'd do:

Aftermarket 400 bore block with 350 mains.
    Custom forged 3" stroke crank
    Forged 6" rods(can't say I've heard of anyone running 6.5)
    Forged Pistons
    REALLY good balance
    SFI flexplate and balancer
    ARP everything

Should rev out to like 9K I'd say, and with less piston speed than a 350 at like 8000. I can't find stupid formula for piston speed, I think its "stroke x RPM / rod length. But I really can't remember.

Crankshaft would likely have to be custom. I've never seen a 3" stroke crank for sale aftermarket. Call places like Eagle or Lunati I'm sure they will cut one for the right $$.

Oh by the way my 400 block(bored to 4.165) setup would be an even higher revving 327 ;)

3. beater_k20

beater_k20 Banned