Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

speedo gear

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by solowookie, Dec 16, 2001.

  1. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    ok, all the dealerships up here are morons.

    to make a long story short I've been trying to figure out what gear I should have in my t-case to make my speedometer accurate. I am running 4.10's with 31" tires.

    I've tried my local dealers, and these guys are completely clueless. they told me I'd have to keep ordering differnent ones until I found one that would work???

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Call a BIG transmission place. Typically GM dealers farm out their transmission work, the one here that a local dealer farms out to, is huge, and the parts guys actually know what they are talking about. Thats where I used to get all of my stuff.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     
  3. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    What I was told at our local chevy dealer was. Figure out how far off your speedo is..Say your speedo says 80, And you are actually going 55. Means you are 25 mph off. Then count the teeth you have on both gears. Each tooth on the gears means 1.5 mph.. Then you can count to what teeth you need...Dan

    If it ain't broke.......Don't fix it....
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Gokartergo>KLICK</a>
     
  4. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Ok Dan that makes sense, but then it doesn't. if I am going 45, but I am actually going 40 then how many teeth should I have? this ratio seems like it would change depending on how fast you were going (gets off more the fast you are going)

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  5. xnoahx

    xnoahx 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Posts:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura, CA 93004
    Its a ratio so it does depend on how fast you are going. Like if its 25 mph off, when you are going 5 mph its not reading 30. The faster you go the farther it will be off.

    My 73 K5 <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/xk5blazerx/73k5.htm>http://www.geocities.com/xk5blazerx/73k5.htm</a> 350/TH350/NP203, Q-jet, Edelbrock intake, Vortec heads, 4" lift, and 36" TSL's
     
  6. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    that I understand, but how does that play into figuring the gear teath??? it seems like if you were figuring it at one speed vs. another speed the teeth count would be different?

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  7. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    JMS,

    only problem is the speedo was never accurate when I purchased this thing. thus how can I apply these forumla's?

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  8. Blazer79

    Blazer79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Guatemala, Central America
    Maybe these guys can help: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.speedometershop.com>www.speedometershop.com</a>

    <font color=purple>//////
    <a target="_blank" href=http://blazer79.freeyellow.com>blazer79.freeyellow.com</a></font color=purple><font color=black>
    Soon a 454 K5!!</font color=black>
    [​IMG]
     
  9. MudNurI

    MudNurI 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Posts:
    2,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VT
    I was thinking the same stuff as solowookie, mines off quite a bit, but after reading all these answers on how to do it, holy crapola, I'm gonna keep my messed up speedo- I guess if I'm passing everyone, I'm going to fast, if everyone is passing me, I'm going to slow? that seems like a good formula for me, considering I have no idea what teeth are or where they are located LOL boy- who would have thought it was this complex to get a correct speedo-

    OR JMS- you can just come up here for a vacation, count my teeth, and tell me what I need????LOL

    --Brandy

    LOVING the new Duramax!!!
     
  10. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Right now, If my speedo says 85 that is right around 60.. So I am going to leave it that way untill I have to tear into my t-case...Then I will fix the problem..It is a PITA.Dan

    If it ain't broke.......Don't fix it....
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Gokartergo>KLICK</a>
     
  11. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    I didn't see anyone mention this, but I stopped by a speedometer shop today to see how much it would cost for them to calibrate it and it was only $75. he said they put it on a dyno-looking machine and compare the speedos( his and the trucks) and change the gear as needed. Said it only took about 45 min max. Just thought I'd give you another idea. I'll be stoppong by there soon to do mine.

    <font color=blue>It's easier to teach a child than to fix an adult.</font color=blue>

    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/geltyone>Webshots Pics.</a>
     
  12. jwduke

    jwduke 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Posts:
    721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ice Cream Capital of the World, IA.
    Check out <a target="_blank" href=http://www.speedometershop.com/>http://www.speedometershop.com/</a> they make those adaptors to put inline of your speedo cable.

    1 ton '87 Chevy SWB in the making!
     

Share This Page