Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

speedometer correction ?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by K5DRAGER, Nov 30, 2001.

1. K5DRAGER

K5DRAGER 1/2 ton status

I have a 90 that came with 3.42's and 31 inch tires I'm going to 4.56's and 35's what do I need to do to correct the speedometer. This is my first daily driver so I'm new to this speedo correction thing. Thanks

2. Chris Demartini

Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status

<font color=blue>Theres a gear in the output of the t-case that spins a cable that hooks up to your speedometer. When you put on bigger tires, you cover more ground in a revolution of the driveshaft than you do with smaller tires (more circumference). I dont know how much of a difference in teeth you need. Anyone know how to calculate this? My truck came with 31s and 3.07s and I have 4.10s and 36s now, How many teeth does my gear need to be?

3. K5DRAGER

K5DRAGER 1/2 ton status

So the 241 case is still a mechanical speedo cable and not a electric one ? Like I said I'm not used to this, I always had 205's in everything else and didn't really care about the speedo.

4. jwduke

jwduke 1/2 ton status

Check this out- <a target="_blank" href=http://www.speedometershop.com/>http://www.speedometershop.com/</a> It may be of help! Good luck!

1 ton '87 Chevy SWB in the making!

5. 90K5

90K5 1/2 ton status

'89 was the last year for the machanical speedo, so we're out of luck there. You'll have to get a Vehicle Speed Sensor Buffer, which somehow recalibrates the speedo. I think Superlift makes them, but they are kinda expensive, something like $120, and it goes on the back of the speedo I think.

90K5

6. chevyfumes

chevyfumes Court jester