Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

speedometer removal problems. help!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by mr_fujisawa, Dec 31, 2003.

1. mr_fujisawa

mr_fujisawa 1/2 ton status

well, like it says. . .
    i was trying to get all my instruments off so i could paint the back with the dupli coor chrome paint and replace some bulbs too. i am kind of new at this, so maybe it's obvious but i can't figure out how to get the freakin speedometer off. (btw it's an '88 k5) i have a chilton's manual and that was no help at all. i tried to get the cable off out the back but can;t figure that out. i tried to pull the plate off thinking the needle might come off the front, but i didn;t pull too hard as i didn't want to break anything. here's where i am at now:
    [​IMG]
    there's a little bolt that holds the speedometer in two. . .here's a pic. do i need to take that off? help! i am really confused.
    [​IMG]

thanks
    sean

2. crazykev4x4

crazykev4x4 1/2 ton status

u need to push the cable towards the speedo the slack. go under the hood and push the cable into the truck so then u can reach behind the speedo and undo it .

Kevin /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

3. mr_fujisawa

um. . .ah. . .yeah. that's pretty obvious. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    but thanks /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif got the cable off and now i just need to paint!

sean

4. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

You'll have to let us know how the paint helped. I painted just the backside of the black "filter" piece, didn't touch the housing.

Pretty hard to tell any difference when you can't see them side by side, but I like to think I can. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

5. Ben

Ben Registered Member