Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Spray can Paint JOB

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ED70K5, May 20, 2000.

1. ED70K5

ED70K5 1/2 ton status

I've decide not to spend to much dinero on a paint job for my rig. I will be doing my first rattle can paint job soon and just wanted to get some pointers. Prepping?? Sanding?? Type of paint?? Primer?? Anything you guys can tell me!! I'm totally new to body work! I have to admit.....I'm very excited about this project! LOL

2. kim tate

kim tate 1/2 ton status

Ed, I'm not a professional painter but I've painted several vehicles over the years. All were done in my driveway shooting quality automotive paints (Dupont/Ditzler), usually black or dark blues, and the results generated compliments from many. You can do this if you take the time and do some research. My first paint job was actually one of my best.

Besides, if you were to pay a pro to paint your truck, the bulk of the cost would be in the labor to prepare the surface for paint. That said, if you intend to prep your truck yourself, you should consider painting it as well. Go visit an automotive paint supply shop and ask the basic questions:

How do I determine what paint is on the truck now?
    What new paint will be compatible with the old?
    How do I clean it, tape it, prime and seal it?
    What do I start to paint? I like to do the wheelwells first.