Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

spring direction and military wrap

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Leadfoot, Mar 15, 2002.

1. Leadfoot

Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

I have a set of rear springs that I am going to put on (have been meaning to for months). They have a military wrap on one eyelet and the other end has a regular eye. See picture http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun75/aaa (sorry for the quality, I am new with a camera /forums/images/icons/blush.gif. My question is does the end with the military wrap go to the front or the rear (shackle end)? Thanks in advance.
    Chris

2. marv_springer

marv_springer 1/2 ton status

I say to the front....

Marv

3. Leadfoot

Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

I have to believe that's true coming from the "Suspension Man" himself /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif/forums/images/icons/cool.gif. Thanks!
    P.S. is there a reason for one eye having it and not another.

Just my curious mind. I like to know WHY things work, not just how they work. Again thanks.

4. marv_springer

marv_springer 1/2 ton status

To tell the truth... I don't really know why. Just every time I've seen "double wrap" leaves on only one side, they've been to the front. My front springs have it....

I do think the front eye takes a lot more of the forces than the shackle end - so I'd guess that that's why.

Marv

5. 1bigk10

1bigk10 1/2 ton status

The double wrap eye acts like a traction bar to help reduce wheel hop.

6. shupach

shupach 1/2 ton status

how much lift are u gonna get from those springs, they look quite large.

phill

7. BadDog

BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

This is my understanding, it’s what I believe but I’ve never seen it in a definitive reference.