Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Spring Fever - BIG TIME!!

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Greg72, Mar 13, 2001.

1. Greg72

Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

All of you in Northern California know what I'm talking about....it's been a long, wet, dreary winter. Over the last couple of days, the sun has come out....it's warm, and there's a sea of humanity gathering around outside on lunchbreaks....it's getting light earlier, and staying light later in the evening. The smell of BBQs cooking are starting to fill the air.

I've got spring fever BIG TIME!!!!!

Last night I starting looking at my K5 and wondering "How hard would it be to pull this top off?" Remember I'm new to K5's so I've never done this before. I found only about 4 bolts attaching the top to the body (prevous owner was a bit lazy!)....and then I shot a liberal coating of WD-40 around what was left of the rubber gasket to help it release it's death grip on the body. It finally came loose and is all ready for the big unveiling tonight.

I need to get some straps and pulleys so that I can hoist it up and off by myself. Hopefully I can get that done tonight! By this weekend I hope to by "cruising the K5" in proper topless style!

Just thought I'd share my excitement with the list!

-GregB
    72 Blazer CST
    w/ Big Bad 427

2. Steve_Chin

Steve_Chin 1/2 ton status

Cool beans, Greg. I removed my top for the first time the year before last in order to change out the window gaskets. I decided to drive it around topless for a few days. Man, I was seeing all sorts of heads turning and craning to look at the Blazer. Have fun causing traffic accidents. <GRIN>

3. Burt4x4

Burt4x4 3/4 ton status