Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Square driveshaft folks

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sled_dog, Aug 11, 2004.

  1. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    where did you get your supplies to make your shaft? And what all did you use? Need a new front shaft so might as well go square front I guess.
     
  2. 55Willy

    55Willy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Posts:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Keizer, Or
    I went to the local metal yard and asked for 2" and 2.5" reciever tube. I got 2' of each and after everything is said and done I'v got $20 into the front shaft. I also had to trim off 3" off each piece once I got the CV mounted.
     
  3. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    You don't really need 2" receiver tube, HREW will be fine. 2.5" should be reciever tube or DOM though. Otherwise the welded seam could be problematic. I would run the 2.5" on the tcase side and the 2" on the axleside. Then drill the tube and add some grease zerks.

    Harley

    Harley
     
  4. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yeah I was planning on drilling, tapping, and adding some zerks and samething puting the larger tube up.
     
  5. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Yep, as above. Got my weld on 1410 yokes from Jess.
     
  6. 55Willy

    55Willy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Posts:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Keizer, Or
    what about running the tubes the other way. big up frotn and small up top? thats the way mine fit the stock cv and yoke best. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  7. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    It will hold water, mud, and dirt that way. Also puts the more massive side down at the swinging end so vibrations and inertial effects would be greater. Not a huge deal, but still worth considering. The first is reason enough to run top side up. There are enough drawbacks to square as it is, but get a bunch of water and dirt in there and you would really have some problems...
     
  8. 55Willy

    55Willy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Posts:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Keizer, Or
    I don't plan on running this shaft for fulltime. It'll only be in when wheeling and I plan to get one made once I get everything else finished and store this as a trail spare.

    I also planned on greasing the pig up and using a shock boot on it /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     

Share This Page