Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

startdammyou

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by newblazin86, Sep 20, 2001.

1. newblazin86

newblazin86 Registered Member

hi newbie here just got a 86 k5 blazer i changed the spark plugs wires cap and rotor now the it wont start! i'm sure i got the firing order right any sugestions? would be much apreaciated.

2. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

Coil to cap cable correct? Did it start before the changes?

Ratch
    <a target="_blank" href=http://k5.8m.com>k5.8m.com</a>
    **Ever stop to think... Then forget to start again?**

3. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

If it ran before you changed all that I'd go back and double check the firing order...then check some other things like maybe you knocked the 12 volt lead off the cap? It's usually the little simple things that give me fits some days![​IMG]

Rene

<font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>

4. newblazin86

newblazin86 Registered Member

yes it ran b4 i started messin with it

5. OneInTheSun

OneInTheSun 1/2 ton status

Are you getting any spark at the plugs? Make sure none of the wires in and around the distributor got bumped loose / broken. About a year ago, I was in the same predicament. The culprit turned out to be a busted wire for the pick-up coil in the distributor. Apparently I must have bumped it one time too many and it simply cracked due to old age brittleness.

<font color=blue>Rob
    85 K5</font color=blue>
    [​IMG] 24 beers in a case, 24 hours in a day - Coincidence?

6. arq

arq 1/2 ton status

you sure the dist was pointing at cyl #1 at TDC also did you disconnect the batt when you did this you could of damaged the module in the dist.