Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

starter bolt torque?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by protechk5, Jan 15, 2007.

  1. protechk5

    protechk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    2,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    Ive search but cant find it, what do you torque the starter bolts too? Its a 6.2 if that makes a difference. Im not trying to snap one off in the block, and not trying to have one come lose on me.
     
  2. protechk5

    protechk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    2,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    anyone????
     
  3. 454k30

    454k30 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California, MD
    I generally go with good and tight. Dont know the exact number.
     
  4. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I've never used a torque wrench, I just snug it up good and tight. :confused: Never had one fall out. :wink1:
     
  5. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,547
    Likes Received:
    937
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    too tight is stripped!...

    I just tighten my starter bolts with a normal 3/8" ratchet with a 6" handle..all any 3/8" bolt needs for torque is about 35 ft lbs...anything more will cause a headache!..I've never used locktite on starter bolts either,and I have yet to lose one..:crazy:
     

Share This Page