Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Steering Box FYI

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Hossbaby50, Nov 6, 2004.

  1. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    If anyone wants to install locknuts on there steering box bolts so the bolts won't loosen up here is the info.

    Needed:

    3 grade 8 7/16" coarse thread bolts 1.5 or 1.75" long
    3 grade 8 7/16" coarse thread locknuts

    Just install some longer grade 8 bolts and and locknuts and that is it. I used 1.75" bolts on my box with nylock locknuts. I used 1 washer on the inside of the framerail. I also have the weld in steering box brace kit. I had plenty of thread left on the bolts so 1.5" bolts could probably be used without problem unless you use a couple washer. Metal locknuts would probably work fine too. Looks like there is plenty of room for them to clear. The steering box obviously has 4 bolts but the bottom front bolt can't really be reached to get a locknut on. Just use a good bolt and washer. Lockwasher might be good too or some Loc-Tite.

    Harley
     
  2. jjlaughner

    jjlaughner 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif should be getting around to that in a couple months /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif
     
  3. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    I highly suggest you get yourself a bolt on brace, whether you get it from me or not. The weld on patch is not enough.
     
  4. BrianDamage

    BrianDamage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    [ QUOTE ]
    I highly suggest you get yourself a bolt on brace, whether you get it from me or not. The weld on patch is not enough.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    you mean use both a weld on and a bolt on brace ?
     
  5. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I highly suggest you get yourself a bolt on brace, whether you get it from me or not. The weld on patch is not enough.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    you mean use both a weld on and a bolt on brace ?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I mean use the bolt on brace, period. I do not suggest the weld patch to anyone. If they want to run it, that's fine, but it doesn't add any strength really. The bolt on brace is where it's at. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

    I have both on my truck. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif They work together well.
     

Share This Page