Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Steve - site advertisements questions

Discussion in 'Feedback | Site Announcements' started by 2Dogs, Dec 20, 2002.

  1. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    Steve,
    I am referring to the ad at the top of the pages - where is it supposed to take you?

    I see the A TRON ad right now and the link takes me to 4x4Iron....? Yesterday it took me to ORD.... Where is A TRON and is the site functioning correctly for me?
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,186
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    All the ad links work correctly for me...

    Rene
     
  3. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    You Canadians always have your $hit together!

    ORD was at the top this time - took me to 4x4 Iron.

    I have NEVER seen A TRON.

    SNAFU /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

    FYI Steve - I am on a Linux system - Mozilla 1.0
     
  4. chevyfumes

    chevyfumes Court jester

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    38,584
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Watch for the muzzleflash!
    I just tried it and it worked for me , but that may only be because I live so close to the Canadian border.... /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  5. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    Maybe you need to barf your cookies! /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  6. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    Well I am now going to ORD from the ORD banner.....

    Now I need to see other banners /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif

    Good suggestion - never occured to me with that wacky prob.

    Stay tuned /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  7. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Well for me it changes everytime I refresh the screen or move to another thread.
    It goes through all the advertizers.
     
  8. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    It is stuck on ORD now - LOL.

    Someone send me the A TRON link.....?
     
  9. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    Here you go! Looks like they've got some cool stuff.

    A-tron
     
  10. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,627
    Likes Received:
    704
    Location:
    CO
    ARe you on a UNIX box?
     
  11. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    Yes. And today it is stuck on Off Camber 4x4.
     
  12. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,627
    Likes Received:
    704
    Location:
    CO
    That's what I thought, I have seen a few weird things happen with the ad serving software when on a UNIX box, not sure I can fix that but good news is that not to many people are on that OS.
     
  13. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    '...good news is that not to many people are on that OS.'

    Good news for you but bad news if you are a competitor to MS
    /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

    I am still having the problem (4x4 Iron took me to OffCamber...). I think it musts et a cookie for the link, not the actual ad.

    Thanks fo checking in here and - "GO UNIX!!!"

    LOL
     
  14. CK5

    CK5 In my underwear Administrator Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 1999
    Posts:
    21,627
    Likes Received:
    704
    Location:
    CO
    Yeah, earlier in the year, when I had a real job I worked on a UNIX box and noticed the problem and could not get it to work consitant, sometimes it would work and sometimes not, maybe it will get fixed in the next release. Weird to because CK5 is hosted on a UNIX box.
     
  15. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    That is typical - better servers but still not quite there in the desktop environment. (~98%.....?)
    I will not switch back to MS unless they develop the 'killer-app.' My
    Mandrake system is super stable and faster for browsing.
     

Share This Page