Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Stock K5 Transfer Cases any problems?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by smartpatrol, Feb 10, 2002.

  1. smartpatrol

    smartpatrol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ault CO
    I am replacing my 305 in my K5 with a high torque engine (500+ c.i.d). I was wonder if anyone has had any problems with the GM transfer cases and big engines. Do they hold up pretty good?


    I thought my Computer hobby was expensive......
     
  2. Calclips

    Calclips 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swartz Creek, Michigan/Flint while in school
    I would think that a 500+ ci engine would tear apart the stock transfer case in no time flat with any ammount of wheeling. I would guess that a 205 would hold up.
     
  3. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Seeing that you have an 83 K5 you probably have an NP208 Tcase. I wouldn't run a 500 inch motor threw a 208, your asking for trouble. Get an NP 205 Tcase and you should be ok. I have a NP 208 in my truck, and I know I wouldn't want to realy on it with a 500 inch motor in front of it.

    My Chevy isn't broken, its just out of gas.
     
  4. smartpatrol

    smartpatrol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ault CO
    are np205's common? is it something i could find at a junkyard?

    I thought my Computer hobby was expensive......
     
  5. Sparky

    Sparky 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Posts:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio(summer) Texas A and M (school year)
    Yes and no. It depends on the application as in what transmission you want to mount it to and the number of splines on the input shaft. Check this out... <a target="_blank" href=http://www.offroaddesign.com/NP205tech.htm>http://www.offroaddesign.com/NP205tech.htm</a>

    When all else fails... Check the blinker fluid.
    78 K-5
     

Share This Page