Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Stock Volt Gauge, Which wire?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by PsRumors, Jan 11, 2007.

  1. PsRumors

    PsRumors 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cartersville, GA
    '85 Suburban, stock GAUGES. I pulled the 350 out and put in a 454. I have everything working other than the Volt gauge. It shows 0 volts.

    Where does it get it's reading? The only thing that has changed, other than the engine, is I did a remote solenoid. I did this due to the fact I hate all the wires running down to the starter, along with the fusable links.

    I know I have power and I have done a load test on the battery and at charge the alternator is putting out 14.4 volts.

    I just want the gauge working.

    TIA
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Volt gauge reads from the instrument panel printed circuit IIRC. Same voltage that feeds the other gauges. If it's not from the printed circuit itself, it would be from the fuse panel.

    You DID somehow fuse the power leads you changed though, right?
     
  3. PsRumors

    PsRumors 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cartersville, GA
    I didn't change any power leads. I used the stock leads to activate the aftermarket solenoid.
     

Share This Page