Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

stock vs. Jet 700r4

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by backlash, Nov 4, 2000.

1. backlash

backlash 1/2 ton status

I know there's been a lot of talk about this, but I'm still confused...

I'm ready to buy another transmission, finally. I've been driving this truck with only 1st and 2nd gear for a couple of months while saving money. Therefore, rebuild is probably out of the question.

A tranny from the dealer for my application is $2250.00 installed with a 36/50,000mi warrantee. Have been happy with the stock performance to this point. There's a lot of talk about rebuilds ... have been looking into the Jet line.

Need some feedback concerning if it's worth the extra expense for a daily driver. Plan to do some offroading once I get to AK ... provided motor holds up.

Any suggestions.

Thanks

2. backlash

backlash 1/2 ton status

Thought I'd bring it up again.

Supposed to take it in on Wednesday.

3. fr8train

fr8train 1/2 ton status

I think for a little more you could get Jet built 4L80E. And you wont have to get another tranny for a long long time. Plus you will have six gears, I think. I know its over drive and it can take a pounding.

4. BurbinOR

BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

No way a rebuilt on a 700R4 goes for $2250!!!!!!!!!! Check another source like a tranny shop, you don't go to a dealership for a tranny rebuild.........they are just way too high. You can buy a Jet I believe for around $1400 or thereabouts, totally tricked out with a Corvette Servo, etc. Try another source, check in Fourwheeler or Petersons Four Wheel and Off-Road for ads, do an internet search for JET (can't remember their website url, sorry). But DON'T go to a dealership, even if they did rebuild it, it would be no upgrades...