Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

stopin distance for 79 blazer

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by rerun93, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. rerun93

    rerun93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chico, ca
    i just wanted to know if this seems normal. when stopin my 79 it seems like i have to put Alot of muscle on the pedal to stop me. now is this because iam so heavy? iam used to little trucks and cars that stop real fast.

    ty for your help
     
  2. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    heavy, drums in the rear, your still 1/2 ton right? smaller brakes in the front, and for the most part unmodified chevy truck brakes arent the best, dosent help any when you put larger than stock tires on it to.HTH
     
  3. bigbrownjimmy75

    bigbrownjimmy75 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    salisbury nc
    ive got a 75 gmc jimmy and have the exact same problem, ive got brand new brakes an its still a pain to stop, specially when muddy:grin:
     
  4. dirtwarrior17

    dirtwarrior17 Banned

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    Had this problem on my 88 until i did a fluid change and got all the air out of the lines. Stopped good after that.
     
  5. Eric M.

    Eric M. 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    2,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    How tall are the tires you're running?

    Eric M.
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    You probably need a new brake booster.
     
  7. dirtwarrior17

    dirtwarrior17 Banned

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    check the master cylinder vacuum for leaks.
     
  8. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    I second that assumption , hard to brake is usually not in the lines , in the lines is soft or spongy :k5: :k5:
     
  9. dirtwarrior17

    dirtwarrior17 Banned

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    Oh yeah.... i was wrong it soft not hard. Could be a vacuum line but either way it has to do with the booster.
     
  10. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Ok , soft could be either . Start by bleeding them first , its free . Then check everything else . Look for signs of leakage etc . Older trucks should have the brakes replaced anyway seeing as to how old they are . I have done everything but the hardlines since I have owned mine , highly reccomended to repalce it all as you can afford it :k5: :k5:
     
  11. dirtwarrior17

    dirtwarrior17 Banned

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    I didn't read the first post all the way... I thought he meant it was hard to stop because the pedal was soft.
     
  12. rerun93

    rerun93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chico, ca
    i will try and bleed them first. i figure it has to do alot with tire size and just being older. just sucks i wonder if there is a swap to do to put a newer style booster and master cyclinder on. cause i know the new trucks stop alot easier then standing onthe brakes lol. ow well if the bleed dont help i will probably swap out boosters.

    also yeah iam still running stock suspension with 4 lift 33 tires
     

Share This Page