Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Stupid Tach Question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Cusm, Feb 16, 2001.

  1. Cusm

    Cusm 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2000
    Posts:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OK
    I came across this on ebay, will this work in an '82 or is this not worth the time? It has a fuel gauge on the tach. Here is the description: <font color=blue>YOU ARE BIDDING ON A FACTORY TACH FROM A 5 TON TRUCK. APPEARS TO BE IN VERY GOOD CONDITION. COMES WITH WIRING HARNESS. THIS TACH WILL FIT NORMAL 1/2 CLUSTERS WITH MINIMUM MODIFICATION. THE TACH HAS IT'S OWN HARNESS THAT RAN TO A JUNCTION BLOCK. ALSO INCLUDED IS THE VACUUM GUAGE THAT GOES IN PLACE OF THE CLOCK-BOTTOM LEFT OF GUAGE CLUSTER. ALL THAT NEEDS IS A VACUUM LINE TO THE MANIFOLD.</font color=blue>
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Probably just like all the other ones, it depends on what year its from. Older gauge assemblies are not just drop ins..the wiring changed. Also, these truck ones that I have seen have the fuel gauge under the tach. I didn't like it.



    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     
  3. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Wy would a tach need a vacuum line hooked up to it?

    Become one with nature............Then marinate it..
     
  4. FastEddy

    FastEddy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2001
    Posts:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    southeast manitoba, canada
    the tach used in the larger trucks probably will not be what you want...they only go up to about 5000 rpm...these tall deck 366 and 427 engines used in the large trucks are built for torque and are not a high reving engine...the vacume line probably has something to do with the govener on these engines....also watch out for these tach's from the large trucks...some were cable drive, not electric...just my 2 cents...if you really want the factory tach look, and can't find a factory tach, try looking into a tach out of a mid 80's pontiac grand prix...they are fairly common, and look to be the same size....could be made to work i think with a little enginering....I've had one sitting in the shed now for a couple years just for that purpose....but will i ever get around too it....?
     
  5. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Get one out of a Camaro. Almost all, if not all, had the tach. You remove all the fuel gauge stuff from your large fuel gauge, affix the Camaro tach display to the top of the truck fuel gauge, and attach the electricals for the tach to the backside. I noticed he did some soldering on the printed circuit board, but that was to relocate the fuel gauge to the clocks location. I didn't make the one in my truck, my dad did, but the numerals are almost identical, and you can not tell that it is not factory, except the 4wd and choke light cut outs had to be made or enlarged. Not only that, it goes higher than the truck tachs. Tachs out of different GM makes/models varied (that is, the RPM range was different) depending on engine and designed usage. Only problem is finding one of the small fuel gauges, but you may be able to from LMC.

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     
  6. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I did that conversion - got the entire cluster from Zach Carlson (remember him?). Simple changeover.

    Regarding the vacuum line - it is not for the tach, is was used in those beastly 366 or 427 motors for keeping an eye on things when braking, etc. I have had one in my truck for years, just another way of keeping an eye on things. Useful for assisting you keep the gas mileage up..........if you watch it and how hard you push the skinny pedal, that is!

    <font color=orange>'79 - 406 TPI -<font color=orange> K5#5 - <font color=blue>See it at---&gt;<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com>http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  7. 89 Blazzer

    89 Blazzer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    dyeager535, I am interested in doing this set-up. Do you have any pics of what it looks like? Also any additional info about the the modifications and soldering would be appreciated.
     
  8. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I don't have any pics yet, but I could probably take some. Could just photograph the back of the circuit board too. I'll see if I remember tonight. All you have to do though is get the wires that USED to go to the large fuel gauge, over to the new location for the smaller ones. Not much to it, even though I didn't do the work.

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     
  9. Cusm

    Cusm 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2000
    Posts:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OK
    Do you know approx what year of Camero? I saw an '85 gauges and there is no way ti would work or look good, it was the funky one where the speedo had the the back of the needle for the K/H

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page