Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

stupid toolbar on IE

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by unick, May 6, 2004.

  1. unick

    unick 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Posts:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego Comufornia
    Ok some website installed a tool bar on my IE. How can I get it off??

    Lmk
    Nick
     
  2. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    Spybot Search & Destroy and/or Adaware /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif both available at Download.com Make sure to run the auto updates for them before running the scan, that will catch a lot more crap. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  3. unick

    unick 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Posts:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego Comufornia
    adaware doesntr work for [darn]!!!
     
  4. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    [ QUOTE ]
    adaware doesntr work for [darn]!!!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif What is the name of the toolbar? Is it MySearch or iSearch?
     
  5. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    Download Mozilla(browser); IE blows.... /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  6. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    If it's the Lycos thing, you probably now have a dozen or so unknown .exe's installed and processes running.
    Use adaware, it's the easiest method, but make sure you download and install the update, and make sure you're using build number 181, earlier versions don't detect much of the modern crap that's out there.
    After each scan, scan again, using custom settings to scan within archives and favorites. Scan over and over again until the scan comes up with nothing.

    I suspect these things are being deployed by sh!tty and unscrupulous advertising companies that place the ads in popup windows. They either exploit Windows security holes, or prompt you to install something (most people unconsciously click "yes" when prompted). 3 machines at work got it shortly after they each visited the same website, which had just changed it's popups.
    Once one gets in, it seems to download and install dozens more.

    Also, if you have a firewall, block "advertising.com" and "Zedo.com". When I got hit with some bitchy little spyware/popup POS, I blocked those domains and saw a TON of hits attempted on them. F***kers should be hacked and shutdown, they're ruining the internet for corporate users that will soon end up getting access turned off because of the risks they cause. If there were grounds to sue them, we should get a class action suit going to close thier operation down.


    When I used Mozilla it was a dog...
     
  7. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Adaware works good for me also. You pretty much have to do what newyorkin says.You must keep ad-aware updated it is usless without updates. The newer spyware can be difficult to remove once in your computer.
    I also scan with trendmicro.com
    Click on "Free Scan" It finds stuff my Norton anti virus misses. It is espically good at picking out trogan horse and back door virusses that spyware companys use to install their stuff on your computer. You have to be a little patient with it. It takes a little time to load and start working.

    Also what newyorkin said about using firewalls is right on. I use the one That comes with my DSL service to block anything that gets thru to my comp. If a pop up makes it thru my seceurty settings. I block its domain name(s) with the firewall and never see it again.
     
  8. Stickseler

    Stickseler 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    6,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    I had one once...forgot what it was, but when I typed in a bad web address i got a dotcom.com thingie I had to download somthing called shredder to get rid of it.
     

Share This Page