Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Suburban Suspension and Tire Options: Need Some Advice

Discussion in '1936-Present Suburban' started by ngoluba, Jul 28, 2004.

1. ngoluba

ngoluba Registered Member Premium Member

Hello everyone, I'm new to CK5. Have an '87 GMC 2500 4x4 350TBI/TH400/NP208/4.10s, 150k, bone stock. It's time for some new tires and wheels which leads to a whole litany of choices and options. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif

I live in western Colorado and am surrounded by fantastic 4 wheeling opportunities. I've been impressed with the comfort and capability of the stock vehicle off road. The break-over and departure angles are a bit of a problem. I'm looking to improve this with sliders, larger tires and maybe a suspension lift.

Tires: Considering 33's or 35's and perhaps a softer 4" all spring lift that will help make room for the new rubber while soaking up the bumps. I'm not completely averse to cutting the wheel wells if it can be done cleanly to reduce the required lift and enable full suspension articulation.

I would like to use an aggressive tread radial tire that is not too noisy on the highway, has a decent tread life, can air down on the trail to soften the ride, but with sidewalls that can stand up to the jagged rocks and the weight of this full size. BFG Mud Terrains and Goodyear MT/Rs seem like the safe bets, but I am also considering the Interco TSL SSRs and the Mickey Thompson Radial Baja Claw. Decent performance on wet roads and ice is important to me as well and I'm guessing difficult to find with this style of tire. What are your thoughts?