Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

subwoofer questions

Discussion in 'Audio' started by Confederate9, Dec 30, 2000.

  1. Confederate9

    Confederate9 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2000
    Posts:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro NC
    i got 2 10inch 300 watt subwoofers. and i was wondering if 1 300 watt amp would pump those? and whats the highest wattege sub that one 300 watt amp would pump.
    thanks

    Confederate's w/ K5's!
    '85 K5: BIG BAD AND MEAN
    K5: Because size DOES matter
     
  2. DBLAZER

    DBLAZER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haslet, Tx
    Ok bro, help me out, tell me what jind of subs you have. I will say this. The watage rating in honestly, means crap. The rating is uaually peak power and that means what the sub can handle when lighhting strikes. It really matters what kind of sub you have, then I can be more specific , yera, make and model. etc etc HAVE A NICE DAY!!!

    [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://dblazer.coloradok5.com>http://dblazer.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  3. Confederate9

    Confederate9 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2000
    Posts:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro NC
    i have n o clue the name of them
    my dad bought them for me out of the jc whitney catalog if that helps.

    Confederate's w/ K5's!
    '85 K5: BIG BAD AND MEAN
    K5: Because size DOES matter
     
  4. DBLAZER

    DBLAZER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2000
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haslet, Tx
    Ok, the 300 watts is going to be on a good day then. What I mean is that they are not going to be a high power handling sub. So dont go guy a Rockford pwer series 360 , cause you will destroy your subs. (that was just an example) The good thing about having a low poer sub is that it is an efficient sub. That means you dont have to go out and buy a big ass amp. as a matter of fact I sugest the oppistie. Do you have any particular brand in mind to purchase???? Let me know and I will try to help. As for your original question, the answer would be yes, you can run one 300 watt amp(depending on the amp ha ha ha ya confused yet?) Im not trying to be confusing sorry HAVE A NICE DAY!!!!

    [​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://dblazer.coloradok5.com>http://dblazer.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  5. Confederate9

    Confederate9 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2000
    Posts:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro NC
    well my dad ordered a 300 watt amp and it was shipped on Dec. 28 so it should be here monday or tuesday. i will let you know what type it is etc when it gets here.
    thanks for all the help

    Confederate's w/ K5's!
    '85 K5: BIG BAD AND MEAN
    K5: Because size DOES matter
     
  6. krisw

    krisw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2000
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    yes the amp can run the subs. it doesnt matter what size the amp is or how much power the speakers can handle. you can power any speaker with any amp, it just might not be all that efficient or loud.
     

Share This Page