Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

sun super tach??

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bablazer73, Jan 12, 2003.

  1. bablazer73

    bablazer73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2000
    Posts:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate ny
    I picked up a sun super tach 2, but I don't have directions. It has a red wire, black, white, green. red and black i assume are power/ground. green for lights? white for trigger? anybody got a clue?
     
  2. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    IIRC The green is the trigger wire and the white is the lites.
     
  3. joker89blazer

    joker89blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    panama city florida zip 32409
    I just installed a Sun super tach in my truck.

    white=dimmer switch

    red=hot [on with iginion switch only,not acc.on also]

    black=ground

    green=tach pickup

    0n 89 tbi I wired.
    white to radio light input
    red to alternator iginition input wire
    green to white tach plug wire on coil
    black is easy any ground should do
     
  4. bablazer73

    bablazer73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2000
    Posts:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate ny
    great, now I have something to do today!
     
  5. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I never was any good at getting the dimmer wired up by going to the headlight switch. I normally just wire it so it's lit up all the time. Someone told me you can wire the dimmer into the dimmer wire at the stereo. Should make it easier, but I've never tryed it.
     
  6. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ummm why not just put a female spade terminal on it and plug it into the fuse panel, there is a terminal for panel lights you know. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Nope, didn't know that. Guess ya learn something new each day.
     
  8. joker89blazer

    joker89blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    panama city florida zip 32409
    There is special crimp conectors made that "hook" on to the fuse to tap the power supply.

    I don't know where to buy those at,so I tap into the wiring. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    As long as conection points are made good I don't see a problem with modifying the wiring
     
  9. joker89blazer

    joker89blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    panama city florida zip 32409
    That's what I did. Easy to get to wires,real easy after some low life has helped himself to your cd player already. /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif

    Works good hooked to radio dimmer light input
     
  10. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Not the fuse itself, there are single blade terminals on the fusebox, some are BATT a couple are keyed power and one is for panel lights.
    No special connectors required, just a female spade terminal.
    I dunno if ya want to practice yer cut and splice skills then hack away.
    But on my 73,78 and 81 there is a panel light terminal that I have wired all my gages wired into.
    Maybe it is only my rigs that have these.
     
  11. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    BTW there is no fuse for the panel lights.
    The dash lights are on the tail light circuit.
    Just remember... if you suddenly lose yer dash lights check the tail lights, if they are out then replace the tail light fuse.
    And find out why ya blew the fuse.
     
  12. joker89blazer

    joker89blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    panama city florida zip 32409
    Didn't know about the spade connection points on the fuse block,must be on the backside.

    As for as making changes to the wiring..
    I service comercial laundry equipment for a living. Sometimes changes are needed to the wiring are even a complete rewire job. Working with electrical diagrams and systems to produce a safe and reliable system is something I am comfortable with.

    I agree with a concern with "hack jobs".
    I have seen some pretty bad stuff done.

    If you know what you are doing, I don't think modifying the electrical system is anymore a bad thing than modifying the drive train, bad things can be done there also /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
     
  13. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    No not on the back, right on the front of it.
    I fix rigs for a living and have to deal with hack and splice jobs on a regular basis.
    I was on one tonight for the marker lights being out and blowing the fuse.
    What a freaking nightmare, I got disgusted with it all and just ripped out all the wiring and redone it all.
     

Share This Page