Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

SVC or DVC

Discussion in 'Audio' started by Muddytazz, Jan 12, 2006.

  1. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    I have the specs and the speakers

    4 ohm impedance with 2 sets of wire connections

    Someone told me that i've only got SVC subs. How can I actually tell for sure?
     
  2. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    SVC = Single voice coil / DVC = Dual voice coils. If your sub has 2 Pos, and 2 negs it's a DVC. If it only has 1 + and 1 - then it's a SVC.
     
  3. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Yes my subs have 2 +'s and 2 -'s (1 set on each side of the sub), with that said, which would be better/wiser or do you need more info?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Cmoe

    Cmoe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa,AZ
    Four ohm load is easier on your amp... Create less heat, makes amp more stable...
     
  5. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Depends on if your amp is 1 ohm stable or not. If it is, then I'd wire them for 1 ohm.
     
  6. chevyin

    chevyin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pismo Bch CA
    Yep, if the sub has dual +'s and -'s its DVC (sorry about the confusion). If you are concerned what their impedance is, use a simple multimeter set to ohms, it will verify their actual impedance. If they are dual 4ohm, wire them to 4ohm mono as shown above, your amp wont handle 1ohm brideged.
     
  7. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    With the above 4ohm setup, how would it look off the amp here in this pic?

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    don't know why the pic is screwed up, but I think the idea is there?
     
  9. chevyin

    chevyin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pismo Bch CA
    Oh, this is a four channel amp?
     
  10. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    correct, guess I didn't say that did I? sorry about that.

    Yeah, 4channel amp running 2-DVC subs(subs are 4ohm subs)
     
  11. chevyin

    chevyin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pismo Bch CA
    That is going to present a bit of a problem. The best method to wire dual 4ohm DVC subs to a 4-channel amp is literally one coil to each channel (4ohms stereo) and sum the signal mono before the amp. This will only draw half the amp's full potential wattage (2ohms stereo would max it), but it will work and remain plenty stable. If you replace the subs someday, you will want a different coil configuration however.
     
  12. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    That is not a biggie as this currect setup is not my permanent ideal system. This is just a get-me-by until I can afford the system that I really want.

    Amp specs:
    1000W peak @ 2ohms
    340W(85Wx4ch) @ 2ohms
    THD @ 2ohms is .03%
    50Wx4ch @ 4ohms
    THD @ 4ohms is .03%

    Bridged 170Wx2ch
    Sig-noise raito: 90dB
    Channel separation: 60dB
    20Hz-20KHz

    Any other info you need? Can a simple diagram for me be drawn up?

    Thanks
     
  13. Cmoe

    Cmoe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa,AZ
    THe amp you have isn't able to go to one channel... It is a 4/3/2 channel amp... It sounds like you want to run the two subs into bridged channels... The other two channels can be run to other speakers..... it would be running in 3 channel mode...
     
  14. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    I don't care how the subs are hooked up really, just so long as they are hooked up correctly without blowing crap up after a couple weeks. The 6x9's are only going to be run off the head unit and the subs only off the amp. Hell, if i have to run 1 speaker to 1ch and 1 speaker to another channel I will. I just want things to last for a while.
     
  15. Cmoe

    Cmoe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa,AZ
    Do you have the manual for the amp? What brand and model # of amp is it?
     
  16. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Amp: Volfenhag ZX-7160


    Subs: PNW10590 Pyramids
     
  17. chevyin

    chevyin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pismo Bch CA
    You can do as cmoe suggested, run one speaker to each set of bridged channels. This would be series wired voice coils for an 8ohm mono load. Or, you can do as I suggested which is run one of each of the four channels to each of the four coils for a 4ohm load to each channel.... it works out eactly the same. Bridging an amp means splitting the impedance between each channel, so that 8ohm mono load would show a 4ohm load to each of the bridged channels (hope I didnt lose ya here).

    Hoestly at this point Im starting to think you might be best off mounting everything up and then running it down to a local shop to have them actually wire up the subs to the amp. If you do the rest of the install yourself they wont charge much, and you can have them explain whats up as they do it so you learn. Probably would be easiest, sometimes its hard to figure out something through a computer screen.
     
  18. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    sad thing is, closest stereo shop from me is over an hour away.

    I'll scan and post up a couple pages from my amp manual for ya to look at.
     
  19. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Hopefully this might help
     
  20. chevyin

    chevyin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pismo Bch CA
    You want to either go with figure a. 4-channel mode. The diagram shows 4 speakers, but you'd use your 2 speakers (because they each have 2 coils), wire each coil up as shown for an individual speaker in that diagram.... or go with figure c. 2-channel mode and wire the vc's on each speaker together in series.
     

Share This Page