Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

swaping gauges?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Last2wd, Sep 18, 2005.

  1. Last2wd

    Last2wd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    the 87 4x4 we have has the idiot light dash.I am just wondering if i can swap a gauge dash (without the tach) in with out lots of changes?The 82 2wd drive had gauges and i swaped an 81 tach dash in to it.so can i put the 82 dash in the 87?
     
  2. Last2wd

    Last2wd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    anyone?
     
  3. 72jimmycst

    72jimmycst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rapid City SD
    I've swaped a speedo from an 88 dash to 79 and it was easy.
     
  4. Jimbo*

    Jimbo* 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    roswell, new mexico
    The wiring harness is the same between guages/idiot lights; you can swap the guage cluster for the light cluster, no problem. In order for your guages to work correctly, however, you will need to change the sending units on the engine. Hope this helps.
    Jimbo
     
  5. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    I don't know about that one. The wiring and pinout is totally different. I put an 87 gauge dash in my 86 idiot light c10, I had to trace the printed circuit on each, and remove each wire from the dash connector and install it in a differernt spot on that connector to match the new gauge pod printed circuit. I replaced the senders with gauge versions too.
     
  6. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    GM changed wiring stuff over the years, I know the '90-91 pinout is almost entirely different than say '86, and the only difference was one wire added for the electric speedo. So yeah, you'd want to make sure that all the wires going to the terminals were the same ones on both clusters, (easy to check, just trace the printed circuit for each pin on the cluster) and change the senders as mentioned.
     
  7. uglyangelracing

    uglyangelracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Posts:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Yeah every wiring diagram Ive looked at has 2 sets of pin outs. One w/gauges and w/o gauges.
     
  8. Last2wd

    Last2wd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    the 87 has a wire running in to the speedo and a cable drive .the 82 panel only has the cable.The plastic case that the gagues sit in is different too.So i need the 87 plastic housing then too?
    Thanks for the help guys!!
     
  9. uglyangelracing

    uglyangelracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Posts:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    No there is more of a difference than that guy
     
  10. Last2wd

    Last2wd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    thanks guys.AAny idea on what wire needs to be where?
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2005

Share This Page