Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

swapped out t350 for 700r4

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Bobby Jennings, Jan 12, 2007.

  1. Bobby Jennings

    Bobby Jennings Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    california
    hey all,

    quick question. changed out stock trbo350 for 700r4 trany with overdrive. do i have to swap steering column for overdrive column. or can i safely tinker with original to work? any help or ideas would be awsome here.
     
  2. obijuan

    obijuan 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    4,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    you could probably just put it in "d" on the origional and be in "OD"? check bowtieoverdrives.com
    it helped me tremendously
     
  3. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,924
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    I did that same swap in my 77, and kept the original column. I just adjusted it so when I put it into D, it was in OD, when I put it into 2, it was in D, and 1 was 2. Wasn't possible to get it down into 1, but I don't think that really matters much, unless you really like downshifting your automatics!
     
  4. onetonbb74

    onetonbb74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Campbell, CA
    I did a similar swap on my 1974 and the stock column works fine, the indicators are disconnected, but i know what gear my truck is in at all times. With my column, you need to make sure its all the way in park. I still get full control of first gear which i prefer for wheeling. It barely works, if i were to do it again, id try to find a 700r4 column because they have a longer throw from park to first gear so there is no need to slam park or first gear for it to work properly, but i like the lights and wipers located on the dash.
     
  5. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,546
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    pull cluster and remove the indacator plate its 2 screws. and add the overdrive indacator plate in to it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2007
  6. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    I was thinking the same as SweetK30 but I didn't hear about a longer throw:confused:

    Several people have swapped to an OD tranny and not changed anything on the column.
     
  7. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,546
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    simplafyed mine reread it.
     
  8. Bobby Jennings

    Bobby Jennings Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    california
    thanks fer tip on 700r4

    thanks sweetk30, that sounds a good change over. im trying to keep the truck user friendly, so my lady can drive it without a custome made handboo0k of bobbyisms. lol.
     
  9. Bobby Jennings

    Bobby Jennings Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    california
    thanks for the web address, i'll try it.
     
  10. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    The columns are the same for TH400, TH350, 700R4. The only thing that changed between the TH400/TH350 to the 700R4 was the indicator bolted to the cluster as was already stated.
     
  11. CB77GMC

    CB77GMC 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Heath Springs, SC

    Thats what I did and it work's fine. :D
     

Share This Page