Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Swapping a 32 spl input into a 208????

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BlazerGuy, Jul 19, 2004.

  1. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    How the hell would I go about doing this? I'm swapping my 27 spine input for a 32 spline for my 465. It looks like I have the take the whole thing apart... /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif

    Anyone have an exploded view of a 208? I think there's one in my Chilton manual but it seems that thing sprouted some legs and walked off... /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif
     
  2. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Its not to hard to do. You can get a good exploded view from your local GM dealer.

    Should only take a couple hours to do with normal hand tools.

    Harley
     
  3. mtn. burb

    mtn. burb 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ojai Calif.
    465's rock! Good Luck. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Yup like harley said its easy . I never opened one before , and yet this weekend I swapped a 32 spline input for my 27 spline input , went well drove it to work today . I have an exploded view ( 2 pics ) in my ck5 gallery /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  5. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,092
    Likes Received:
    492
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
  6. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    There is is a tip I can offer . Use grease or vaseline to hold the needle bearings on the mainshaft ( they will fall out on ya ) then put the shaft in on those BEFORE putting the second row of needle bearings back in . That was easier for me , once the first row is held captive the second ones fall right in around shaft . These are # 21 and 22 in the diagrams /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     

Share This Page